Family Counseling / Family Therapy

Please refer to “Psychological Counseling” for a description of general operation and arrangements.

Family Counseling and Family Therapy are used interchangeably in the following description.

Families were the contexts where we first experienced ourselves, our interpersonal relationships and learnt how life could be lived. Our experiences in families influenced all of us in important ways, and also shaped how we relate with other people and conduct ourselves outside our families. We often talk about love and care in the family, but unfortunately for some families, family members have (without intending to) developed ways of sharing lives that members have come to experienced their families negatively.

Family Counseling helps clients deal with relationship problems in the family, and also help family members’ deal with related individual emotional, psychological, relationship and other problems. Examples are frequent arguments and conflicts, disrespect, control, emotional distancing, poor communication, alienation, or cut offs. These problems may be recent transitional ones or they might have been long-termed problems which started years ago. Very often, family members’ attention is focused on what did/could not work. Professional family counseling/therapy may help members re-direct their attention on the positive aspects of which family members are unaware, and discover new possibilities for improvement. In the process of family counseling, family members are often helped to move from helplessness to new hope.

If parts of the above description echo how you have been experiencing your family, you may like to consider family counseling/therapy as a method to help yourself find change and improvement, toward healthier and happier family relationships and family life.

Family Counseling may be used as a method for part of the process of your individual counseling. The counselor may use a family perspective to help you examine your present personal problems in the context of your family experiences, past and present, and help you think, feel and experience yourself, your other relationships, and your currently life differently.

When more than one family member share similar concerns about their family and share the wish to improve their family relationships, they are encouraged to consider family therapy. The counselor will discuss with the family about meeting with individual, some members, and everyone (if available) to attend different counseling sessions at different times. As family members influence each other, change in as few as one member will help start off ripple-changes in the entire family. When you begin, the whole family may come together, or part of the family can come first, and invite the others to join later.

You are welcome to call 2868 3066 to enquire, share your situation and your needs with Mrs. Man, and discuss counseling arrangements which will suit you and your family.

家庭輔導 / 家庭治療

請先參閱「心理輔導」一頁,了解一般輔導的安排與運作。

在以下描述中,「家庭輔導」與「家庭治療」的意義相同。

我們每一個人都出生於一個家庭,大部份人長大成年後也會結婚,建立另一個新家庭。我們在家庭中日積月累的體驗,對我們有很重要的影響,塑造了我們怎樣為人、怎樣過生活、怎樣與人相處的慣性模式。此外,我們在原生家庭的經驗,常常影嚮我們現在怎樣在新家庭中和配偶及兒女相處。

家庭有時會出現溝通和相處的問題,影響家人之間的關係,也困擾個別家人的生活。家庭輔導協助家庭處理家庭問題,也同時協助個人處理相關的個人情緒、心理及人際關係困擾。有些問題是近來才出現的,但也有可能是已經存在了一段時間。

當家人面對家庭問題的時候,他們往往感到困難重重,難以解决。專業家庭輔導協助家人尋找新的可能性和轉機。如果你和你的家庭遇到困難,我們鼓勵你考慮家庭輔導,作為一個方法,協助你尋求改變,朝向更健康愉快的家庭生活。

如果你自己一個人尋求心理輔導,家庭輔導是協助你很多方法的其中一個很有用的方法。輔導員會引導你回顧你的家庭經驗,協助你更新在家庭中建立的思想、情緒及行為習慣、同時發掘另一些家庭給你的優點與潛能。在家庭輔導進行的過桯中,你很可能會對自己、對你與人的關係、對你怎樣面對生活,都有新的感受和體會。這些體會,也將會幫助你發現當前問題的根源、並掌握解决問題的出路。

如果你和你的家人,都關心家庭裏的問題和彼此的關係,都希望尋求改善,我們建議你們一同參與家庭輔導。輔導員會在輔導過程中的不同時段,建議約見單一個別家人、夫婦、部份家人、或全體家人。歡迎你來電查詢,簡述家庭情况,輔導員會給你意見,建議你們怎樣開始。

家庭輔導,不一定需要全體家人一齊出席。一家人一同生活,他們思想情緒行為是在不斷互相影響、不斷互動之中,有點像不斷被搖動變化中的萬花筒。其實,若家人中部份人尋求改變,也會帶動家人間的互動,幫助整個家庭向更積極的方向發展。

歡迎你來電2868 3066查詢詳情、向文太簡述你的情况和需要,傾談適合你和家人的輔導安排。